Advice on learning Anime-Style illustration

Hi, everyone first post on this forum. Really enjoy the striving for animation YT channel!

I’m a complete beginner to drawing and I’d like to start learning anime-style illustration, in hopes I could possibly make it into a sizable career or side gig. I always wanted to do this but never had the courage to invest in it given my life complication. I’ve decided to start really devoting a large majority of my time to learn this craft. I’m planning to move to Japan in a year or two, where I could hopefully gain more networks in the anime-illustration department and further promote my work to the right audience. I take a lot of inspiration from this users illustrations (https://www.pixiv.net/en/users/20787), which is just one of many. This is the level I hope to achieve some day.

I was wondering if anyone could give me some guidance/advice on where to begin. Since I’m not in a “art school” per say, I can’t follow a curriculum and a lot of the information online is overwhelming, some are very westernized which doesn’t interest me as much. I’ve done a few drawabox lessons and gesture drawing practices from proko, c.cafe. A lot of people mention studying anatomy books as well, which I have started doing but the level of detail presented in these books are a lot I feel in comparison to anime-stylized illustration. I’m finding myself not efficiently studying and all over the place. My goal is to improve in the most efficient manner possible, while avoiding certain traps

If you read up until here, thank you! I really do appreciate any sort of guidance on things I should be following, videos to watch, books to look into and etc as a beginner.

Thanks again and hope to hear from some of you down below :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hello!

I am an animator so I’m going to approach this from that viewpoint…since anime illustration gets its source from the anime it represents or is inspired by. There are a lot of the same skills involved.