For those wanting to learn Japanese

This site is what I used when I first truly dove into learning Japanese. It took me a few hours with the katakana version of this and reading practices and I was good to go.

Disclaimer: I’m not fluent in Japanese (yet) but I am studying the language daily. If you guys would like some tips or have some resources, please by all means let me know :3

7 Likes

Tae Kims Guide is very helpful

1 Like

Tae Kims is definitely a must. I’d recommend reading it 2 or even 3 times just to get everything you can out of it.

Anki with some flash card decks (like Nihongoshark’s) is pretty great for helping you recognize Kanji.

Memrise is an alright app that will teach you some stuff and gives you various drills to help remember them.

Japanese Pod 101 is excellent for listening practice. I tend to use that for ‘passive learning’ (like when I’m on the train).

Everyone’s a bit different in what may work best for them, but I would recommend not focusing on vocab until much later. You’ll naturally pick it up as you study grammar, work on comprehension, kanji, et cetera. Hearing it attached to something with real meaning I think makes it much easier to remember than just looking at a word, writing it ten times and then moving on (which of course may work better for some people).

As for books, the Sao Matome ones along with the Speedmaster series are really good, though they’re more JLPT prep.