I work on anime. Ask me anything

Hello guys, I’m known as Beast in the community. I began my journey on anime in this same forum about a year ago, and thanks to the community I’ve since worked in around 10 animes as animator and LO artist.

I thought I would make this topic to answer some of your questions, technical or not, which are probably similar to the ones I had when I began, so feel free to ask until your doubts are solved.

Some of my credits:

-Black Clover
-Boruto
-The Otachan Show
-A ton of other animes not aired yet.

13 Likes

Should I take on commissions/requests even though I am inexperienced? And if I do, how much should I ask for since I am a solo animator.

1 Like

Hello! I just have a few questions! as someone who has been animating for five years, recently completed their first animation gig, and who wants to break into freelancing in anime as soon as possible. I’ve been informed that studying genga animation and practicing the proper notations in order to efficiently fit into the production pipeline is a good way to start. This also means utilizing twitter as a portfolio for staff to notice you. May I ask how did you get hired on your first production? What were the hardest learning curves for a newcomer to the industry that you suggest someone who aspires to get into the industry practice?

Thank you for your time!

Hello Andrew. Good to see you have some experience and enthusiasm. I would advice you, though, to take it easy on trying to enter “as soon as possible”, as it may be counterproductive. It’s way more preferable that you are prepared to tackle the level of quality and work load anime has, so you don’t mess up badly and put yourself and the production in problems.