New comers who never draw anything

If anyone want to learn sakuga animation but never drew anything.
How should he start?

2 Likes

Well,
First thing first is to start drawing! Learn how to draw(you don’t need to be a professional before you need to animate) after that learn basic animation using stuff like Animator’s survival kit. :smiley:

Yeah, the beginning really is all about sketching as much as you can. Don’t worry about making anything good and don’t compare yourself to other people when you start out (or ever, really), just draw as much as you can. Focus on learning hand-eye coordination (drawing smooth lines, circles, shapes) and start doing simple sketches of people and objects around you whenever you have a few spare seconds.

2 Likes

I’d recommend starting with a book called “Drawing from the Right side of the Brain” and “Fun with a Pencil by Andrew Loomis” if you’re an absolute beginner, then studying figure drawing, Croquis cafe is a good resource for free figure drawing poses. For figure drawing you’ll want to learn about gestures primarily which will have a cascadingly positive effect on your animation work.

1 Like

To piggyback off of the figure drawing tips, I got started on gesture and figure drawing from a YouTuber called Proko. Here’s a playlist of his figure drawing videos: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLtG4P3lq8RHGuMuprDarMz_Y9Fbw_d2ws

Love Life Drawing which is another channel I recommend also recently posted a video which I really think is helpful https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ST9lPQhnQPY