What kind of hardware is good for a begginner

Hello guys, am really encouraged to participate in this months Animaitsuki, but I don’t have a drawing tablet nor software on my laptop. So I was wondering if some of you can recommend a good drawing tablet for a complete beginner in digital animation, I’m not sure if investing into a cintiq with no experience is a good idea, or is the pad enough for me at my current non-existent level in the digital side. What advice can you guys give?

I think pen tablets are good regardless if you’re a beginner or not. A lot of people will swear by Wacom but I’ve been using an XP Pen Deco 02 for almost 2 years and it works great for me. It’s a lot cheaper than a Wacom tablet of the same size too. I got it on Amazon for $70. The Deco 01 is the same size but it’s $50. the downside to the Deco 01 is the stylus isn’t that good.

1 Like

I can only recommend this video.

I’d absolutely use a pad and stylus like Marc-G suggested - you don’t need a screen tablet to make professional-grade artwork. I use a Wacom Intuos pad, and it has worked very well for me for the past 6-7 years. It cost me approximately $100 if memory serves me correctly. I’d recommend reading customer reviews on any hardware you are thinking of buying and document the negative ones; some people are just cranky, but if the majority of negative reviews consistently observe the same issues, prepare for a similar experience.

Not an easy answer I should say.
It depends on your level in animation.
If you are a very good animator, you can animate in anything. just look at keke (kekeflipnote on youtube) who animates on a 3DS.
Good knowledge and skill can compensate poor hardware.
If you are learning, the best is to learn the principles and good quality hardware can help a lot because you concentrate on your improvement alone.